Antigua-Barbuda is the official tourism partner for ICC Women’s World T20 cricket

A View of English Harbour from Shirley Heights Lookout, Antigua (photo: The National Parks Authority)

ST JOHN’S, Antigua — Antigua and Barbuda has signed on as the official tourism partner for the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 with the semi-finals and finals of the games taking place at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium in Antigua on November 22 and November 24, 2018.

A ground-breaking, history-making event, this will be the first time that the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 is being organised as a stand-alone event and the second time in its six-year history that the event is being held in the West Indies, with the previous occasion being in 2010.

Minister of tourism, Charles Fernandez, said: “We are thrilled to be placing the spotlight on Women’s Cricket and are extremely excited to be hosting in Antigua for the first time the Women’s World Twenty20. Antigua and Barbuda is synonymous with cricket and many a record-breaking moment has unfolded within our hallowed cricketing grounds.

The world’s top women cricketers are descending on our grounds, for what we can only anticipate will be some electrifying matches. We look forward ensuring the cricketers and all our visitors have an amazing experience in Antigua.”

The Antigua and Barbuda Tourism Authority and the ministry of tourism will launch a series of campaigns in the weeks leading up to the semi-finals and finals in Antigua, encouraging cricket-lovers to attend the matches, and promoting the involvement of women in sport.

“We recognise the positive impact of sports on tourism and revenues, and as a global event this is a fantastic opportunity to expose viewers watching the games to the destination while also inspiring more women in our Caribbean communities to become involved in sporting activities,” said CEO of the Antigua and Barbuda Tourism Authority, Colin C. James.

As a lead up to the start of the games, Antigua will also host warm-up matches on November 3, 4, and 7 at the Coolidge Cricket Grounds. The defending Women’s T20 Champions West Indies and teams from Australia, Ireland, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh are expected to participate in these matches, which are open to the general public.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.