Caribbean News Now!

About Us Contact Us


Jump to your country or territory of interest

Advertise with us

Reach our daily visitors from around the Caribbean and throughout the world. Click here for rates and placements.


Submit news and opinion for publication


Click here to receive our daily regional news headlines by email.


Click here to browse our extensive archives going back to 2004

Also, for the convenience of our readers and the online community generally, we have reproduced the complete Caribbean Net News archives from 2004 to 2010 here.

Climate Change Watch

The Caribbean is especially vulnerable to rising sea levels brought about by global warming. Read the latest news and information here...

Follow Caribbean News Now on Twitter
Connect with Caribbean News Now on Linkedin

News from the Caribbean:

Back To Today's News

New Turks and Caicos cabinet sworn-in
Published on December 22, 2016 Email To Friend    Print Version

Governor Dr John Freeman (2L) with Premier Sharlene Cartwright-Robinson (2R), along with other members of the newly appointed Cabinet

By Caribbean News Now contributor

GRAND TURK, TCI -- On Tuesday morning, governor of the Turks and Caicos Islands (TCI), Dr John Freeman, held a ceremony to swear-in the newly elected premier, Sharlene Cartwright-Robinson, and other members of the Cabinet appointed following the general elections held on December15.

The governor congratulated the new premier on her election victory and said that he looked forward to working closely with her and her government in the period ahead.

On Tuesday afternoon, Freeman also signed the appointment instrument of the new leader of the opposition, Washington Misick.

Governor Dr John Freeman (L) with Premier Sharlene Cartwright-Robinson
The People’s Democratic Movement (PDM) won ten out of 15 electoral seats and the new ministerial appointments are as follows:

• Sharlene Cartwright-Robinson – Premier and Minister of Finance, Trade and Investment

• Sean R. Astwood – Deputy Premier and Minister of Immigration and Border Control and Employment

• Vaden D. Williams – Minister of Home Affairs, Transportation and Communication

• McMillin Goldray Ewing – Minister of Infrastructure, Housing and Planning

• Josephine Connolly – Minister of Education, Youth, Sports, Culture and Library Services

• Edwin Astwood – Minister of Health, Agriculture and Human Services

• Ralph Higgs – Minister of Tourism, Environment, Heritage and Culture

The PDM has committed to a periodic rotation of ministerial positions.

Dwayne Taylor has been selected to become speaker of the House of Assembly when it reconvenes, and Karen Malcolm will serve as deputy speaker

Other elected members, Derek Taylor will work out of the Premier’s Office in Grand Turk and Douglas Parnell will work of out of the Premier’s Office in Providenciales and will spearhead negotiations on constitutional change, UK relations, business development and inward investment.
Reads: 5897

Click here to receive daily news headlines from Caribbean News Now!



No comments on this topic yet. Be the first one to submit a comment.


As a result of our comments feature being overtaken in recent weeks by spammers using fake email addresses, producing a large number of bounced verification emails each day, we have reluctantly decided to suspend the comments section until further notice.

User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment author and are not representative of Caribbean News Now or its staff. Caribbean News Now accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.
Caribbean News Now reserves the right to remove, edit or censor any comments. Any content that is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will not be approved.
Before posting, please refer to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Other Headlines:

Regional Sports: