Caribbean News Now!

About Us Contact Us


Jump to your country or territory of interest

Advertise with us

Reach our daily visitors from around the Caribbean and throughout the world. Click here for rates and placements.


Submit news and opinion for publication


Click here to receive our daily regional news headlines by email.


Click here to browse our extensive archives going back to 2004

Also, for the convenience of our readers and the online community generally, we have reproduced the complete Caribbean Net News archives from 2004 to 2010 here.

Climate Change Watch

The Caribbean is especially vulnerable to rising sea levels brought about by global warming. Read the latest news and information here...

Follow Caribbean News Now on Twitter
Connect with Caribbean News Now on Linkedin

News from the Caribbean:

Back To Today's News

The Caribbean Writer announces Volume 27 prize winners
Published on July 8, 2014 Email To Friend    Print Version

ST CROIX, USVI -- The Caribbean Writer has announced its annual prize winners from Volume 27, which highlights music and visual arts. Topping the list is a new annual prize: The Cecile deJongh Literary Prize ($500) awarded to an author whose work best expresses the spirit of the Caribbean. This new annual prize is donated by Governor John de Jongh in honour of his wife's commitment to literacy. It was awarded to LuviaJane Swanson, who resides on the island of St John. Her stories have appeared in the Fairy Tale Journal, Cabinet des Fees, and in the Sam’s Dot publications, Beyond Century and Aiofe’s Kiss.

The David Hough Literary Prize was awarded to Denise Campbell Laidler, a Jamaican-born writer. This $500 prize is awarded to an author who is a resident of the Caribbean. It is donated by Sonja Hough, owner of Sonja’s Designs, the handmade jewelry designer in Christiansted, St Croix, in memory of her late husband.

The Daily News Prize for poetry ($300) was awarded to Ernestia Fraser, a writer from Nassau, Bahamas. The Canute A. Brodhurst Prize for fiction ($400) was awarded to Leiso Edwards, a writer from May Pen, Jamaica. The Charlotte and Isidor Paiewonsky Prize for first time publication ($250) in The Caribbean Writer went to Caribbean writer, Mary Slechta who lives and teaches in New York City.

The Marguerite Cobb-McKay Prize to a Virgin Islands author ($200) went to Kate Melone of St Croix, US Virgin Islands, who has degrees in both Literature and Visual Arts. Her poems have been widely published in several volumes of The Caribbean Writer.

The 2014 edition of The Caribbean Writer, Volume 28, highlighting Contradictions and Ambiguities in the Caribbean Space, will be published later on in August. The biographies and photographs of these winners will be featured in that journal.

The deadline for Volume 29 submissions is December 30, 2014

For more information on The Caribbean Writer, visit
Reads: 4317

Click here to receive daily news headlines from Caribbean News Now!



No comments on this topic yet. Be the first one to submit a comment.


As a result of our comments feature being overtaken in recent weeks by spammers using fake email addresses, producing a large number of bounced verification emails each day, we have reluctantly decided to suspend the comments section until further notice.

User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment author and are not representative of Caribbean News Now or its staff. Caribbean News Now accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.
Caribbean News Now reserves the right to remove, edit or censor any comments. Any content that is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will not be approved.
Before posting, please refer to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Other Headlines:

Regional Sports: