Caribbean News Now!

About Us Contact Us


Jump to your country or territory of interest


Advertise with us

Reach our daily visitors from around the Caribbean and throughout the world. Click here for rates and placements.


Submit news and opinion for publication


Click here to receive our daily regional news headlines by email.


Click here to browse our extensive archives going back to 2004

Also, for the convenience of our readers and the online community generally, we have reproduced the complete Caribbean Net News archives from 2004 to 2010 here.

Climate Change Watch

The Caribbean is especially vulnerable to rising sea levels brought about by global warming. Read the latest news and information here...

Follow Caribbean News Now on Twitter
Connect with Caribbean News Now on Linkedin

News from the Caribbean:

Back To Today's News

Antigua-Barbuda PM names new senatorial team
Published on June 23, 2014 Email To Friend    Print Version

ST JOHN’S, Antigua -- Newly elected Prime Minister Gaston Browne has submitted to Antigua and Barbuda’s Governor General Dame Louise Lake-Tack his appointments to the government’s senatorial team in the Upper House of Parliament.

Prime Minister Gaston Browne
“I have opted for a combination of youth and experience in keeping with the Antigua and Barbuda Labour Party’s philosophy of ensuring that we have an across the board representative force in the decision making process in government. Our youth are very important to achieving our goals in rebuilding Antigua and Barbuda and therefore I am contented that the individuals selected will represent our aspirations well,” noted Browne.

The complete list of senators recommended to the governor general for appointment is as follows:

1. Senator Lennox O’Reilly Weston -- minister of state within the ministry of finance and corporate governance;

2. Senator Maureen Payne-Hyman -- parliamentary secretary in the ministry of legal affairs, public safety, immigration and labour;

3. Senator Londel Turham McAlister Benjamin -- parliamentary secretary in the ministry of social transformation and human resource development

4. Senator Colin Lesley Anderson James -- parliamentary secretary in the ministry of trade, commerce, industry, sports, culture and national festivals

5. Senator Alincia Toshiba Harriet Williams-Grant

6. Senator Cheryl Mary Clare Hurst

7. Senator Michael Nathaniel St Patrick Freeland

8. Senator Wigley Franklin Nathaniel George

9. Senator Shenella Mary Shadida Govia

10. Senator Osbert Richard Frederick

11. Senator Adrian Lee (prime minister’s nominee from Barbuda)

The new senators will take the oaths and receive their instruments of appointment at a ceremony at Government House on Monday.

The senators will take their oaths of parliament on Wednesday, when the Upper House convenes at 1:30 pm. The Lower House of Parliament will convene at 9:30 am, also on Wednesday.
Reads: 4210

Click here to receive daily news headlines from Caribbean News Now!



No comments on this topic yet. Be the first one to submit a comment.


As a result of our comments feature being overtaken in recent weeks by spammers using fake email addresses, producing a large number of bounced verification emails each day, we have reluctantly decided to suspend the comments section until further notice.

User comments posted on this website are the sole views and opinions of the comment author and are not representative of Caribbean News Now or its staff. Caribbean News Now accepts no liability and will not be held accountable for user comments.
Caribbean News Now reserves the right to remove, edit or censor any comments. Any content that is considered unsuitable, unlawful or offensive, includes personal details, advertises or promotes products, services or websites or repeats previous comments will not be approved.
Before posting, please refer to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.


Other Headlines:

Regional Sports: